Two Boots and a Farwa

Hong Kong! (Day 2)

Aaaaand, we’re back again! With another possible monster post. Because we love you that much. Why else would I dig through a million and one photos with a cold -because of the غبار- at work? (Don’t tell my boss I’m doing that, though.) (Seriously.)

Anyway, our second day pretty much started with a bang. Literally. The bathroom ceiling in my parents’ room leaked sewage at 6am. Luckily they were up for prayer and called maintenance before anything could really happen, and the hotel was pretty fast in fixing the situation, they automatically upgraded my parents to one of the larger suites with a much better view. Point 3 for the Peninsula. (First being in-room check in, second being my birthday cake.)

the new room's view.

the new room’s view.

Up and early, we wandered around a bit before heading to harbour city for breakfast. We thought we could find a cafe there that opened a little earlier than 10:3oam for breakfast but no such luck so we got sandwiches from the first open place we found. Which, happily, was Eric Kayser, and which, happily, had better tasting breads and stuff than the one in Paris. Have I mentioned how awesome bread here is? Yes? Well. It is.

sophisticated signage. I still think the little mermaid's better.

sophisticated signage. I still think the little mermaid’s better.

the tray and tongs thing are a common occurrence here, I've noticed. The serve-yourself approach is awesome, but for some reason there aren't any papers or napkins to go on the trays, even when we asked. Yes, we're that sort of family.

the tray and tongs thing are a common occurrence here, I’ve noticed. The serve-yourself approach is awesome, but for some reason there aren’t any papers or napkins to go on the trays, even when we asked. Yes, we’re that sort of family.

glorious wonderous eclairs (in general. I've never tasted the eric kayser ones)

glorious wonderous eclairs (in general. I’ve never tasted the eric kayser ones)

cookies should be standard breakfast fare, to be honest. My mama has taste. Not pictured, our sandwiches. We ate them before pictures could be taken. Woops.

cookies should be standard breakfast fare, to be honest. My mama has taste. Not pictured, our sandwiches. We ate them before pictures could be taken. Woops.

Toys R Us was right by Eric Kayser, and the tweedledums wanted a look (and so did we, to be honest), so on we went.

UHOLY CRAYOLA I WANT ALL OF THESE. The world needs a little more color, no?

UHOLY CRAYOLA I WANT ALL OF THESE. The world needs a little more color, no?

We The Tweedledums had to be dragged out of there because we nearly bought all the lego who wanted to waste their time in a shopping mall when a whole wide world was waiting to be explored?

Honestly, though.

Honestly, though.

I grabbed a baby chococcino before we left from Pacific whatchamacallit…

they were very true to the 'baby' part of the drink. I think they think children are pixies.

they were a tad bit too faithful to the ‘baby’ part of the drink. I think they think children are pixies.

and Tweedledee got himself some new shoes because his old nikes were falling apart (although he still thinks it’s in pristine condition). And then it was off to the metro to get to Central for a restaurant I’d found online that sold halal cantonese fare!

One thing about the metro system in Hong Kong: It is awesomely organized. Very easy, very efficient, goes everywhere, and isn’t expensive at all. Get an oyster card if you’re the sort to use public transport a lot. We don’t so we got single journey tickets.

A nice human helping us out with the tickets because we're a walking sort of family who like to use metros as least as possible. On the way back though, turned out it was really easy, there's a brilliant touchable map on the machine that you can use to pick your destination and voila! your ticket shoots out. Loved it.

A nice human helping us out with the tickets because we’re a walking sort of family who like to use metros as least as possible. On the way back though, turned out it was really easy, there’s a brilliant touchable map on the machine that you can use to pick your destination and voila! your ticket shoots out. Loved it.

very polite floor. don’t stand in the way of the people coming out, yo.

it was slightly crowded. and by slightly I mean a lot. everyone was going to Admiral station.

it was slightly crowded. and by slightly I mean a lot. everyone was going to Admiral station.

ممنوع التصقير، وشكرا.

hong kong island

After seeing Hong Kong Island, I’m kinda really glad we didn’t listen to people and live there. It’s a lot more quiet than Kowloon and getting from one place to another on foot isn’t the most ideal thing as there are a lot of highways without sidewalks or intersections between one area and another. Mind you, this is a first glance opinion, as we went to Central only once and it was a very brief stay so it could be a lot more lively at night or something.

Hong Kong Island had trams! Pretty ones, too.

Hong Kong Island had trams! Pretty ones, too.

vague image of colorful buildings because I think it looks like watercolors which is cool. nothing informative here.

vague image of colorful buildings because I think it looks like watercolors which is cool. nothing informative here.

 

After some walking and a little gettting-lost-and-then-catching-a-cab-to-the-damn-place, we finally got to Bowrington Street in Wan Chai. And then with a little more guessing, we found the elusive halal duck shop! Which, happily, turned out to be in an actual local cooked center that didn’t have a single tourist in it. I hate to sound all snobby tourist but… yay authentic food experiences!

market by the building that housed the cooked center.

fresh vegetable stalls, in wan chai.

halal duck, huzzah!

Yum.

cooked center. there’s a a number of other restaurants.

Mind you. I don’t recommend this place if you’re picky, a hypochondriac, the seating/atmosphere’s fanciness matters to you, or if you don’t know how to use chopsticks. Actually, if you don’t know how to use chopsticks and you’re visiting hong kong… well. Just get one of those utensil travel packs. Or get a crash course in chopstick using. And it’s okay if the people sharing the table with you stay a little longer because it’s amusing to watch you try to separate the meat from the bone using chopsticks. No, really. Because it is amusing.

Chopsticks! love’em. really. I used to carry a pair around with me in riyadh just in case we ate out. Don’t ask.

Hypochondriacs and neatophobes, beware.

curry! came with our order for some reason.

noodles and soup. the soup, my mother reported, was delicious, and has قرع نجدي in it.

the star of the show lunch, teh juicy duck! and it was juicy. just be prepared to spend some time picking the meat from the bone of which there is a lot of. bone, that is. and fat. but it tasted good. (mum wasn't a fan as she likes boneless poultry without any grease).

the star of the show lunch, teh juicy duck! and it was juicy. just be prepared to spend some time picking the meat from the bone of which there is a lot of. bone, that is. and fat. but it tasted really good. (mum wasn’t a fan as she likes boneless poultry without any grease).

 

menu, and the name of the restaurant in case anyone's curious.

menu, and the name of the restaurant in case anyone’s curious.

lady doing the washing. I think.

lady doing the washing. I think.

We had ordered two ducks, but one would have suited us just fine, and we’re a family of 6. I think I would have preferred a chicken or duck noodle dish, if they made that.

One lovely thing I’ve noticed in Hong Kong though, is that they have a waste not policy in all of their restaurants. There’s always a sign somewhere reminding you to order only as much as you can eat, and if there are any extra leftovers, you might be charged for your waste. I wish more countries had that attitude. It’s better for the health, and restricts food wasteage.

times square, hong kong version!

times square, hong kong version!

we explored a bit nearby and somehow stumbled onto this square, which was really lively.

line for something

line for something

wan chai

awesome cartoon dude.

pucca-like characters. that's what the line was for, mebbe?

pucca-like characters. that’s what the line was for, mebbe?

And then it was back ‘home’. we didn’t stay long in wan chai, unfortunately.

we didn't stay long in wan chai, unfortunately.

creeping on people on the subway.

amusing cartoon for a not so funny subject.

amusing cartoon for a not so funny topic.

On the way back, we passed by Kimberly Street (home the previous post’s turkish restaurant) to drop off a mighty load of film I had to be developed. The lab’s called Dot Well Photolab and I definitely recommend them for anyone who wants cheap good quality processing done. Plus, the place sells used equipment and although I didn’t get the chance to peruse their collection, it looks awesome.

dot well photolab

hello my pretties. HELLO.

On the way back (I just noticed how we’re always on the way back to the hotel. Hm.) we found a little street vendor that sells The. Best. Pineapple. Buns. Ever.

Quick side information: Pineapple buns are called so for the crust that coats it and not because it has pineapples in it. Although it can have pineapples or custard in it. In this instance, we were lucky enough to catch a new batch of buns right as it came out of the oven, and unholy fudging popsicles did it make all the difference. Try and get them hot please. Please.

We also tried the custard buns (yum) and the egg tarts (eh. not worth it. get a pineapple or custard bun instead) and then we went back the next day because I was in love.

my favorite thing ever. seriously. I love it almost as much as I love my dad's french toast and my stomach is gurgling horribly right now.

my favorite thing ever. seriously. I love it almost as much as I love my dad’s french toast and my stomach is gurgling horribly right now.

pineapple bun

egg tarts

egg tarts

name of the bakery place.

name of the bakery place.

And then we got ice cream from an ice cream truck, because why the hell not? Ice cream is appropriate for all times and places and seasons, wethinks.

not the best but still pretty good.

not the best but still pretty good.

And then, for reasons unknown to anyone at the time but which I know recognize as an attempt by my family to do as many things as possible in one day so that when we finally wrote our posts about them I would break down and cry from the sheer size of a post we decided to stop by the Ladies Market, in Mongkok, at around 9:30 to see whether it would be worth a visit the next morning or not.

my sort of shopping :')

my sort of shopping :’)

And it was a good call we did, because it really isn’t worth wasting a morning for. It’s nice to go to an open air market but don’t expect to find any, well, finds. One, you have to bargain a whole lot to get a decent price. Two, most of the stalls are recurring, with phone covers, bags, paper punchers, and thumbdrives being the most popular. Three, Temple Market has the same thumbdrives but at a much cheaper bargain. Remember that. I found out after buying some from here. All that being said, I loved it. I love tchoks and cheap markets and buying things I don’t need, it’s massive fun. Mind, though, they closed up shop around 10:30, 11pm.

ladies market

audi on the streets in Mongkok. there's a large number of sports cars here.

audi on the streets in Mongkok. there’s a large number of sports cars here.

what I got from there, thanks to S's marvelous bargaining skills mashAllah. I can't bargain to save my life. and yes I wore those heart sunglasses very seriously the rest of the trip. What? They're cute!

what I got from there, thanks to S’s marvelous bargaining skills mashAllah. I can’t bargain to save my life. and yes I wore those heart sunglasses very seriously the rest of the trip. What? They’re cute!

The day ended (don’t worry, this post is nearly done) with a trip to a supermarket for a simple dinner.

supermarketWe went a little crazy on the pocky sticks. NOTE: We later found out the salad pretz unfortunately have a pork additive in them, avoid them. Always reread the ingredients before you eat anything packaged, especially since in HK they always add an english description. Make the most of it as you can.

My shrimp flavored chips are superior to S's pizza flavored chips, of course.

My shrimp flavored chips are superior to S’s pizza flavored chips, of course.

Tom Yum pot noodles, much to my parents' disapproval, and oh so good.

Seafood pot noodles, much to my parents’ disapproval, and oh so good.

We obviously failed at a ‘summary’, as you can see. Next post, third day and Macau, promise.

sincerely dedicated to all things happiness,

two boots and a farwa

 

 

This entry was written by themysteriousscribe and published on April 1, 2014 at 8:52 pm. It’s filed under travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

